Main Menu

Explore More

School Counseling Departments

Each school has a school counseling department that supports students’ overall health and growth as an individual. The school counselors support students in three domains: academic, college/career, and social-emotional. Below are resources offered and ways they support students.

Mental Health and Social-Emotional Support

Including individual counseling, conflict resolution, anger management, healthy relationships, depression/coping skills, family issues, grief/loss,  anxiety/ stress, drug/alcohol/tobacco use, peer pressure, life skills, self esteem, bullying/suicide prevention, foster youth support, community referrals.

Academic Support

Including freshman/new student orientation, study skills workshop,  academic 
reviews/probation, standardized testing workshops, 4 & 6 yr.  plans, parent-teacher conferences.

College/Career Support

Including career exploration, college applications, FAFSA, post HS options,  scholarship research assistance, individual support, workshops, and classroom lessons.

For more information about the services above, please contact your school counseling office

Contact Us

Matthew Case
Director of Behavior Interventions
mcase@avhsd.org

Justin Prewitt
Coordinator of School Counseling
jprewitt@avhsd.org

Danitza Pantoja
Coordinator of Psychological Services
dpantoja@avhsd.org

Tracy Spitz
ERICS Program Coordinator
tspitz@avhsd.org

Jada Jackson
Coordinator of Student Services
jjackson@avhsd.org

Yasmin Dorado
Coordinator of Student Services McKinney Vento & Foster Youth
ydorado@avhsd.org